Know your ABC’s – Tennessee Misdemeanor Classes


Though termed “misdemeanor”, misdemeanor charges are serious offenses. Misdemeanors can range from speeding to drug possession and domestic assault.
Tennessee Class A misdemeanors carry up to 11 months, 29 days in jail and / or fines up to $2,500.00. Some common examples of a Class A misdemeanor in Tennessee include assault, domestic assault, simple possession of marijuana, possession of drug paraphernalia, theft, and DUI.
Class B misdemeanors carry up to 6 months in jail and / or fines up to $500.00. Common examples of a Class B misdemeanor in Tennessee include reckless driving and prostitution.
Class C misdemeanors usually consist of motor vehicle or regulatory offenses — such as speeding, wildlife violations, and other petty offenses. Class C misdemeanors can carry up to 30 days in jail and / or no more than $50.00 in fines.
If you have been charged with a Tennessee misdemeanor, do not hesitate to reach out to a criminal defense attorney. No matter how big or small the charge may seem, it is important to seek legal advice before your upcoming court date.