Underage DUI

Underage DUI in Tennessee

Team Up with a Chattanooga DUI Lawyer

Tennessee has a drinking age of 21 years old and the consumption of alcohol by anyone under the drinking age is illegal. There are some exceptions to this law; however, and consumption of alcohol for religious purposes is accepted. This does not affect the law regarding driving under the influence, underage drinkers still cannot operate a vehicle after consuming alcohol. If an underage drinker is pulled over and has a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) level of .02% or higher, they may be cited for DUI. The age of the suspect plays a part in the determination of the consequences.

Potential Penalties for Underage DUI

If between ages 16 and 18, an underage DUI offense is punishable by a license suspension for up to one year, a fine of up to $250 and up to 48 hours in prison. If between ages 18 and 21, the penalties may differ, such as:

First Drunk Driving Conviction:

  • Up to 11 months in prison
  • A fine between $350 and $1,000
  • Up to one year license suspension

Second Drunk Driving Conviction (within 10 years of the first):

  • Between 45 days and one year in prison
  • A fine between $600 and $3,500
  • Up to a two year license suspension

When it comes to underage DUI cases, there could be other charges involved, including: minor in possession, possession of false identification and more. These charges may stay on your criminal record forever and effect your ability to find work. Seeking aggressive representation from a Chattanooga DUI attorney is advised in order to have a strong defense by your side. Davis & Hoss, PC has more than 25 years of experience representing the criminally accused in their DUI cases.

We are prepared to take on all types of DUI cases, contact us now for a free case evaluation.

Contact Davis & Hoss, PC

Send My Information