Tennessee Felony DUI
Need a lawyer for a DUI case in Chattanooga?
DUI offenses are generally charged as misdemeanor offenses in Tennessee. There
are several cases; however, where the charges can be increased to a felony
offense with harsher penalties. If you are facing felony DUI charges,
contact Davis & Hoss, PC to discuss the potential defenses for your case.
When is a DUI a Felony Offense?
The first three DUI convictions that you face are all charged as misdemeanors.
A felony DUI may arise in any of the following situations:
- A Fourth DUI offense
- Vehicular Assault
- DUI with Child Passenger
- Vehicular Homicide
- Aggravated Vehicular Assault
A fourth DUI is charged as a Class E felony in Tennessee and is punishable
by between 150 days on one year in jail, a fine of up to $15,000, eight
year license revocation, alcohol treatment program, ignition interlock
device and more. Vehicular Assault and DUI with Child Passenger offenses
are both charged as Class D felonies. A Class D felony in Tennessee is
punishable by between two and 12 years in jail, license revocation, fines,
court costs and more. Vehicular homicide is a Class B felony offense and
Aggravated Vehicular Assault is a Class A felony. There are severe penalties
on the line when facing felony DUI charges. On top of the criminal penalties,
you may be ordered community service, rehabilitation programs and DUI
school completion depending on the judge for your case.
Team Up With Davis & Hoss, PC for Felony DUI Cases
For the best possible chance of avoiding conviction in your DUI case, you
need a highly-qualified and experienced Chattanooga DUI attorney. For
more than two decades of experience on your side,
contact Davis & Hoss, PC.
Our firm offers a free
case evaluation so you can discuss your felony DUI case at no cost.