DUI Penalties

DUI Penalties in Chattanooga, TN

Chattanooga DUI Lawyer

DUI offenses are not taken lightly in the state of Tennessee. Facing these types of charges puts you at risk of serious and long- lasting penalties. The Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) limit in Tennessee for a driver 21 or older is .08%. If you are under age 21, the BAC limit is .02% and if found above your legal limit, you may be charged with DUI. In order to determine a driver's BAC level, there are three types of chemical tests that can be performed. A driver is required to perform one of these chemical tests when arrested for a DUI under the implied consent law. If a driver refuses to submit a test, they may be facing penalties. The penalties for a first refusal is a one year license revocation and a possible fine. Then, if the same driver is later arrested for a DUI and they choose to refuse again, the penalties may be increased to a two year license revocation and a fine. The fines for a DUI offense are even more harsh, contact Davis & Hoss, PC for legal representation.

Tennessee DUI Penalties

The breakdown of penalties for DUI offenses is as follows:

First DUI Conviction in TN:

  • Between 48 hours and 11 months in jail
  • A fine between $350 and $1,500
  • One year license suspension
  • Possible ignition interlock device

Second DUI Conviction in TN:

  • Between 45 days and one year in jail
  • A fine between $600 and $3,500
  • Two year license suspension
  • Possible ignition interlock device

Third DUI Conviction in TN:

  • Between 120 days and one year in jail
  • A fine between $1,100 and $10,000
  • Three to 10 year license suspension
  • Ignition interlock device installation

Fourth DUI Conviction in TN:

  • At least 150 days in jail, up to the maximum for a Class E felony
  • A fine between $3,000 and $15,000
  • At least a five year license suspension, could be permanent
  • Ignition interlock device installation

For the first and second offenses, an ignition interlock device could be ordered under certain circumstances. For example, if your BAC was above .15 or if you have a child passenger under age 18 in the vehicle at the time of the offense. Other penalties that you could be facing if charged with a DUI in Tennessee is litter pick-up, DUI school programs for alcohol safety, penalties for child endangerment, vehicle seizure and more.

Fight Against Your Charges With Davis & Hoss, PC

Need a lawyer for a DUI case in Chattanooga? Our firm has 25 years of experience and we can help you build a solid defense against your DUI charges.

We also offer a free case evaluation so contact us at (423) 825-9747 to get started.

Contact Davis & Hoss, PC

Send My Information